M83 Release “Do It, Try It” & Announce New Album ‘Junk’

Carl Williott | March 1, 2016 1:55 pm

UPDATE: Just after this post went live, M83 released the lead single “Do It, Try It,” and it is very…something. It’s a squiggly retro-prog pop odyssey and it would’ve been hard to extrapolate this sound after the sweeping dream-pop of M83’s last two albums. The album artwork is up top, and you can hear the song below and peep the tracklist.

1. Do It, Try It 2. Go! 3. Walkway Blues 4. Bibi The Dog 5. Moon Crystal 6. For The Kids 7. Solitude 8. The Wizard 9. Laser Gun 10. Road Blaster 11. Tension 12. Atlantique Sud 13. Time Wind 14. Ludivine 15. Sunday Night 1987

M83, the cinematic synth-pop band that you (yes you!) can be a part of if you happen to play the keyboard and meet the application requirements, have announced their new album title. Following 2011’s Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, the Anthony Gonzalez-fronted project will release Junk on April 8.

In the wake of emo LP names like Saturdays = Youth and Before The Dawn Heals Us, the title itself seems a bit like an outlier, but Gonzalez previously described the new material as “epic,” so Junk should go right along with M83’s past output.

The new LP was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen, who was also behind the boards for Hurry UpCheck out their upcoming tour dates in the meantime and get your mind right with the majestic “Reunion.”

[via Pitchfork]