Kesha Reveals ‘High Road’ Tracklist, Drops “Raising Hell” Video

Mike Wass | October 24, 2019 1:48 pm
Kesha Announces 'High Road'
The pop star announces her 4th LP, 'High Road,' in a mini-documentary.

It’s been a week of announcements, previews and teasers, but few have been as exciting as the return of Kesha. The pop star, who is returning to her wild, Animal-era roots, rolls out “Raising Hell” as the first single from High Road (due January 10) and it’s a raucous anthem with quotable lyrics, a Big Freedia feature and a splash of gospel. “I’m all fucked up in my Sunday best, no walk of shame ’cause I love this dress,” she belts on the pre-chorus. “Hungover, heart of gold, holy mess… bitch, I’m blessed.”

That takes us to the sing-along chorus: “Singing oh, mama raised me well, but I don’t wanna go to heaven without raising hell.” Co-written with Wrabel, Sean Douglas and Stint, “Raising Hell” is the perfect bridge between Rainbow (the production, courtesy of Stint and Omega, evokes “Woman”) and the fucks-free shenanigans of her earlier material. Kesha also unveiled the video and it finds her playing a televangelist with an abusive husband. She ultimately escapes, but pays a heavy price. (The similarities between the plot and her ongoing legal issues are hard to ignore).

In other news, the much-loved hitmaker revealed the cover (bottom of post) and tracklist of High Road (pre-order your copy here). In addition to Big Freedia, the album also features collaborations with Sturgill Simpson and Brian Wilson on “Resentment” and Wrabel on “BFF” as well as a duet for the ages with Ke$ha (her former persona). Yes, the $ is back and I’m living! Standout song titles include “Birthday Suit,” “Potato Song (Cuz I Want To)” and “Chasing Thunder.” See the full tracklist and watch the “Raising Hell” visual below.

Kesha’s High Road Tracklist:

01 Tonight

02 My Own Dance

03 Raising Hell feat. Big Freedia

04 High Road

05 Shadow

06 Honey

07 Cowboy Blues

08 Resentment feat. Sturgill Simpson & Brian Wilson

09 Little Bit Of Love

10 Birthday Suit

11 Kinky feat. Ke$ha

12 Potato Song (Cuz I Want To)

13 BFF feat. Wrabel

14 Father Daughter Dance

15 Chasing Thunder

The “Raising Hell” video:

High Road album cover:

Do you love the song? Let us know below, or by hitting us up on Facebook and Twitter!